Hey, gang! Daniel Riding is in the Studio! Whoo hoo! Em first met Daniel at a book chat, and he made her laugh the whole night. Such a funny, nice, kind man, so we’re super pleased to have him with us today. Hip hip, hooray!

Studioenp: Silence or noise when writing?

Daniel: I can’t do silence at all when I’m writing, and it also depends on what I’m writing or what mood I’m in that decides what kind of noise I prefer. Sometimes it can just be simple background noise, or a television program playing in the background. I do love listening to mediation music when I’m working, I find it soothing and helps the creative process.

Studioenp: Ah, we can imagine how the meditation music could work. No lyrics to put you off your stride. So, what’s your latest release?

Daniel: My latest release is my debut poetry collection My Raven Heart, and I am super proud of it. I do hope people find it inspiring and take something from each poem.

Studioenp: How did the idea come about for it?

Daniel: Because it’s a poetry book there is no conventional plot as you would have with a novel. But the message and the ‘story’ comes from my life and personal experiences. It is the most honest and emotionally raw that I have been, and it is equal parts scary and liberating.

Studioenp: We can imagine putting your heart on the page must indeed have been scary. But cathartic, right? Bringing the demons out so you can face them and kick them in the nuts. That’s how Em would view it, anyway. How long did it take you to write it?

Daniel: Only a few months. I have written poetry for years, but due to ongoing health issues my creative well in regard to poems has been blocked for a few years. Only recently has the inspiration started flowing again, and it makes me so happy to be writing and publishing something so creatively satisfying. I love to write poetry.

Studioenp: That’s great to hear, because writing is so therapeutic, but if there are health issues, the need to write kind of walks away—not helpful! Lovely that it all came back for you. What’s next on your writing list?

Daniel: A couple of things. I also write children’s books and I am currently about halfway through the first draft in the next book of my Naughty Cat series. I have also started writing poems for my second collection, which I am very excited about.

Studioenp: Yay for being excited. Brilliant! Are you a plotter or panster?

Daniel: For my children’s books I am a plotter, but not super controlled or structured. I write a few notes for the basic plot of the book, and then I write a few pointers for each chapter. This way I still have the freedom to be creative and not get stifled by a super-strict plan.

Poetry is so natural in the way I write. I guess it could be called pantsing but in a more emotional sense. I can have a moment where a memory hits me, and from there a poem comes into fruition, or I can hear a word or a line from a song and then inspiration runs with it.

Studioenp: Then it’s a quick dash to the computer to write it all down, we imagine, before it disappears! What is your go-to form of procrastination?

Daniel: Social Media, straight away. Simply because it is the easiest and most accessible form of procrastination. I also love watching bad reality TV—at the moment I am obsessed with The Real Housewives of New York, Atlanta and New Jersey. Thank GOD for my HayU subscription.

Studioenp: Hahaha! There’s something about reality TV that is fascinating. Em likes studying all the people and their personalities. Trying to work out how they tick. How many hours per week do you write?

Daniel: I don’t have a set amount to be honest. As I write children’s books and poetry, the variation between writing mediums means my time writing varies as well. I tend to just write when I want to. That’s one blessing of being self-published, I can create my own deadlines.

Studioenp: Less pressure! What’s one genre you’ve always wanted to write but haven’t—and will you ever write it?

Daniel: I have always loved reading fantasy novels and would one day like to write something like this. I admire people who can write this kind of thing because to build a completely new world seems scary for me. One day I will be brave and try something like that.

Studioenp: You can do it! It’s like a middle finger to rules. Your world, your rules, not ones others have decided you should follow. Try it! What’s the best book you’ve written?

Daniel: I have to say my current release My Raven Heart. It is my most open, honest, and raw, and I am super proud of it.

Studioenp: And so you should be! Thank you so much for being with us today. It’s been lovely getting to know you a little better. [Em waves!] Long may you write!

Dear readers, please feast your eyes on these blurbs and also on the doughnuts over there on the table. Scoff them at your leisure while you read—but you can’t lick the sugar off your lips until you’re done. Go!

Blurb for My Raven Heart:

This is Daniel Riding's debut adult contemporary poetry collection and it is a journey amongst the most darkened places of mentality and identity. It deals with different kinds of pain and healing and is a look at how humanity can often be corrupted from outside forms, and then healed and reclaimed by looking inside yourself and rebuilding. Words are powerful and the intention of this collection is to inspire and encourage self-care and self-preservation, regardless of how painful past experiences have been.

 

Blurb for The Secret Diary of a Naughty Cat:

Ever wonder why cats can be so naughty?

Well why not check out ‘The Secret Diary of a Naughty Cat’ from debut children's author Daniel Riding

Naughty Cat will take you through the many ways a cat can be naughty and how they get away with it all.

Blurb for Merry Christmas Naughty Cat:

Naughty Cat is back, and this time it’s all about the Christmas Mischief. How much fun can Naughty Cat have during the Christmas Season? Well, from Christmas Trees and decorations to snowcats and Santa Claus himself, Naughty Cat has a very eventful Christmas indeed. Follow our friend Naughty Cat on a very festive adventure, as we find out all about the most magical things about the season that Naughty Cat loves. Find out what Naughty Cat also thinks is the most important thing about Christmas, and get cosy under a blanket as you lose yourself in the latest book from Amazon Bestselling Author Daniel Riding. Merry Christmas Naughty Cat, is sure to make you feel festive and very Christmassy indeed.

 

Blurb for Pixelville: Sword & Bone:

When it comes to adventure, Steve isn’t exactly the bravest. In fact, he is what many explorers and adventurers would call a ‘Noob’. His best friend Alex is a super brave and very talented adventurer, and Steve wishes he was as brave as she is. 

Together they embark on Steve’s first ever adventure and he is equally as scared as he is excited. Alex suggests a small adventure to an abandoned dungeon just outside of their hometown of Pixelville. But, a small adventure is not what they get. Instead, they end up finding a lot more than they bargained for, and Steve has no choice but to try and let go of his inner Noob and become a brave adventurer like his parents and best friend.

With daring adventure, plenty of danger and excitement, ‘Pixelville: Sword & Bone’ is the first in a brand new fan adventure series for those who love adventure, mystery and of course, Minecraft. 

Perfect for fans of DanTDM, StampyCat and Zack Zombie.

Disclaimer: This book is not authorised, sponsored, endorsed or licensed by Mojang AB, Microsoft Corp. or any other person or entity owning or controlling any rights to the Minecraft name, trademarks or copyrights. Minecraft is a registered trademark of Mojang Synergies AB.

About Daniel Riding:

You can connect with Daniel by clicking on any of the following links.

  

 

If you would like to join in the fun and be interviewed by us, then just click the email button below.